The Art of Layering

Each and every morning, as well as night, when I open my cabinet doors in the bathroom I am faced with an array of products that I am privileged to own. Then follows the question, where do I begin? As someone who invests a great deal of time into his skin I often need to take a step back and devise some sort of game plan, in order to provide my skin with what it needs at that exact moment. Of course, there are about 13 products that remain consistent in my routine on a daily basis; however let us also take into account the multiple exfoliators and masques that are incorporated as well.

For the sake of simplicity I will stick with my go-to system that I find works for me. Keep in mind that we all bear different skin types than one another, but we also carry varrying concerns. 

The basic starter-system often recommended is a cleanser, toner and moisturizer. This sounds absolutely preposterous to those of us who obsess over our skin, does it not? If you are anyting like me your daily routines probably consist of, wait for it: multiple cleansers, toners, eye creams, serums, oils, moisturizers, sunscreen and a primer. Emphasis on the plural. So where do all of these sit in conjuction to one another?

Well let us chat…

Clarisonic with Deep Pore Cleansing & Normal Brushes

Professionals will suggest that layering should begin with the product bearing a thinner consistency and follow through in order to the product with the thickest consistency. I whole heartedly agree with and operate under this structure as well, always after a double cleanse. The key is to structure your routine so that your products and their ingredients compliment one another, and so that they can also function as a unified whole in synergy. The best way to do this is certainly through trial and error which is when samples become our best friend.

Things to look for during this trial period:

  • Redness, sensitivity and/or irritation,
  • Bumps and/or Acne,
  • Excess oil production,
  • Dry and/or flaky skin,
  • Uneven skin tone and/or pigmentation,
  • Dull skin,
  • Rough texture. 

Keep in mind that you want to address your concerns, at least the primary and secondary ones, with your routine. Also keep in mind that your samples will probably not produce immediate results; rather they will give you some insight into the feel, smell and look of a product as well as its potential compatability with your skin. 

To uncover what your concerns are I suggest a visit to a credible Skincare retailer, or better yet feel free to get in touch with myself for some quick and genuine advice. 

Now for my routine, in order of usage:

AM

  1. Kiehl’s Facial Fuel Energizing Facewash with Clarisonic – Normal Brush,
  2. Arcona Toner Tea Bar,
  3. Kiehl’s Brightness Activating Toner ,
  4. Kiehl’s Age Defender Eye Repair (applying an eye cream before a serum will prevent possible irritations),
  5. The Ordinary. Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5 (hydrating serums first),
  6. Kiehl’s Daily Reviving Concentrate,
  7. Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream (moisturizers, creams or lotions last),
  8. Kiehl’s Super Fluid UV Defense SPF 50+ (sunscreen is a must as a preventative to aging but also when using any brightening product or one that has a hasrsher interaction),
  9. Hylamide HA Blur – Finisher (to prepare for makeup).

PM

  1. Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Botanical Cleansing Oil (oil removes oil AND makeup),
  2. Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cleanser with Clarisonic – Deep Pore Cleansing Brush,
  3. Kiehl’s Brightness Activating Toner,
  4. Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Eye,
  5. The Ordinary. Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5,
  6. Kiehl’s Hydro-Plumping Re-Texturizing Serum Concentrate (gels after hydrating product),
  7. Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate,
  8. Kiehl’s Pure Vitality Skin Renewing Cream.

Trial and error has guided me here.

I am being too true when I say not everyone has the ability to operate at this caliber; I have a sick obsession with personal care. I do need to stress one more piece of advice before wrapping this up…

Some products work best when given time to absorb between applications. 

I speak truths. This is not only a fact but I can guarantee that if you put this theory to the test you may be satisfied with the results. I recently introduced this policy into my own routine and I have nothing but positive things to say in return. Some products like Benzoyl Peroxide for example, which treat concerns like Acne, do require up to 3 hours to sit before another product is applied; this allows the Benzoyl Peroxide to function at its full potential. Not all products require this amount of wait time but most do benefit from at least a 5-minute interval when layering. Again, it never hurts to do some research for the overall benefit of yourself, your skin, and your investment into Skincare products.

The PM Routine

It is my hope that I was able to provide some insight into how you can perfect your process and maximize on your natural beauty. If you have any questions or would like further guidance please do not hesitate to reach out.

I do not bite, promise.

thecityconglomerate@gmail.com

Stay in Order,

Peter. =D 

Leave a Reply

